India's Neighbouring Countries Name, Capital, Border Length

India shares land borders with seven neighboring countries, which are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, Myanmar (Burma), Nepal, and Pakistan. Whereas, India shares sea border with two neighboring countries – Sri Lanka and Maldives.

Country	Capital	Border Length
Afghanistan	Kabul	106 Km
Bangladesh	Dhaka	4096.7 Km
Bhutan	Thimphu	699 Km
China	Beijing	3488 Km
Myanmar	Naypyidaw, Yangon	1643 Km
Nepal	Kathmandu	1751 Km
Pakistan	Islamabad	3323 Km
Sri Lanka	Colombo (Commercial), Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte (Legislative)	Sea Border
Maldives	Male	Sea Border

Check the list of neighbouring countries of India with their capital and border length

1. **Afghanistan:** India and Afghanistan share a historical and cultural relationship. India has provided significant developmental assistance to Afghanistan in various sectors, including infrastructure, education, and healthcare.

Border Length- 106 km Official Languages – Dari, Pashto Currency – Afghan Afghani States/ Provinces – 34 Provinces

2. **Bangladesh:** India and Bangladesh share a border that stretches over 4,000 kilometers. The two countries have improved their bilateral relations in recent years, focusing on trade, connectivity, and people-to-people exchanges. They have collaborated on various infrastructure projects and resolved long-standing territorial disputes.

Border Length- 4096.7 Km Official Languages – Bengali Currency – Bangladeshi Taka States/ Provinces – 8 Provinces

3. **Bhutan:** India and Bhutan have a unique and special relationship. India is Bhutan's largest trading partner and has been involved in the country's development across various sectors. The two countries cooperate closely in areas such as hydropower projects, education, and defense.

Border Length- 699 km Official Languages – Dzongkha Currency – BhutaneseNgultrum States/ Provinces – 20 States

4. **China:** India and China share a complex relationship characterized by a mix of cooperation, competition, and occasional border disputes. The border between the two countries is a contentious issue, and both have engaged in diplomatic efforts to resolve the disputes. Trade and economic relations between India and China are significant but have faced challenges due to geopolitical tensions.

Border Length- 3488 km Official Languages – Mandarin Currency – Chinese Yuan States/ Provinces – 26 Provinces

5. **Myanmar (Burma):** India shares a border with Myanmar in its north-eastern region. The two countries have been working on enhancing connectivity and economic cooperation. India has been involved in infrastructure projects in Myanmar and has sought to strengthen cultural and historical ties between the two nations.

Border Length- 1643 km Official Languages – Burmese Currency – Burmese Kyat

6. **Nepal:** India and Nepal have a close relationship due to their cultural, religious, and historical ties. The two countries share an open border and have strong people-to-people connections. India has been a major trading partner and development partner for Nepal, assisting in various sectors such as infrastructure, education, and healthcare.

Border Length- 1751 km Official Languages – Nepali Currency – Nepalese Rupee States/ Provinces – 7 Provinces 7. **Pakistan:** India and Pakistan have a complex and troubled relationship, primarily due to historical and territorial disputes. The two countries have fought several wars and have had periods of tense relations. Resolving issues such as Kashmir and crossborder terrorism remains a challenge, although occasional efforts for dialogue and cooperation continue.

Border Length- 3323 km Official Languages – Urdu Currency – Pakistani Rupee States/ Provinces – 4 Provinces

8. Sri Lanka: An island nation in the Indian Ocean, southeast of the Indian subcontinent

Border Length- Sea Border Official Languages – Sinhala, Tamil Currency – Sri Lankan Rupee States/ Provinces – 9 States

Maldives: Located in the Indian Ocean-Arabian Sea area, the island nation of Maldives is located to the south-west of India.

Border Length- Sea Border Official Languages – Dhivehi Currency – Maldivian Rufiyaa States/ Provinces – 1

